Day 6:The one where I write mad recruitment mails.

Well hello there!

Are you waiting for my day 6 post of my 30 day blog challenge? Did you just look at the watch, see how the minute hand was already 42 minutes into day seven, and Tsk-Tsked at me? Technically, Andy who is doing this 30 day challenge thingy with me is the only one who must have checked in to see if I’m cheating/lagging behind (And trust me, I can feel her disapproving glare on me right now, all the way from pune!)

Well I’m an optimist. I have to be, considering how I just seem to either lag behind or rush through things most of the time. So im just going to look on the bright side and say “hey, you are writing a day 6 post on day seven – good going!” 😀

So while I’m writing this post, there are very important things that i’ve got to get back to. My chat window is pinging non-stop. My phone is buzzing non-stop. But no sir, day 6 is a feisty little thing that will not be ignored. Actually this is kinda a cheat post- because i’m just going to be sharing with you something I wrote a while ago.

I was on a job hunt for the position of a copywriter. The scary part about working in advertising is that everyone is creative, and so better than you. The fun part about working in advertising is that you get to write and send out these kind of mails to prospective employees – all under the excuse of being creative.

The best part about being in advertising is that you get to work with cool people with a sense of humour (such a rarity these days!) who actually respond mad mails like this!

Presenting the desperate, ‘Please hire me’ mail, born of 3 parts frustrations and 2 parts fun.

For some reason I thought pandora peeking into the box of troubles was a relevant pic for this post.

For some reason I thought Pandora peeking into the box of troubles was a relevant pic for this post.

Subject: 10 reasons to take a peek at my Portfolio.

Dear (person at the hiring position).

Let me give you 10 very good reasons to at least have a look at my work. And then maybe call me for an interview too?

 

1) It could be your good deed for the day.

2) It’s more interesting than that ‘other’ mail waiting for you in your inbox.

3) You find my name interesting. It means Date (Khajur) in Hebrew, by the way.

4) You could, maybe find a copy error (everyone feels smug about finding a copy error).

5) If you just delete it, you won’t be able to deal with the ‘what ifs’. (What if it was good? What if it was blank? What if there was an idea worth saving?)

6) You really have better thing to do in life, and it would save time to just open the damn attachment rather than go till the end of this list.

7) You get a new FB status: ‘Went through a portfolio today. Thankfully, came out on the other side unscathed.’

8) You want to test your internet speed and see just how fast an attachment would open.

9) You never knew that the fig is technically a non-vegetarian food because it eats the bee that pollinates it. Now that you know one more thing in the world, you feel like you owe it to me to at least have a look.

10) Well, if you made it till here then there must be something worth reading in my portfolio too, right?

 

Thanks for looking at it.

Cheers,

The reluctant writer.

p.s. Would you give me a job?

 

 

One thought on “Day 6:The one where I write mad recruitment mails.

Leave a Reply

