24 things to do before I’m 24

bucket-list_thumb[1]
It’s my birthday month, yay!! When I was little, I used to be so, so, so, excited about my birthday a whole month before it. As I grew up (read – older) the excitement kind of died down to just “yay it’s my birthday” on the eve of that day. In fact, at this stage, I feel old. And 24 is so not the age to think about, well, age!! I think all this started with my 21st birthday. Suddenly, I felt like I had reached a peak in life, from where I could see all the way to my 80s! Yes I know, high hopes, I may not even touch that number. But at that point I had such an overwhelming sense of mortality – not in the ‘I’m going to die’ sense, but the ‘I don’t have time’ sense. I just felt that I was already a particular age and I still had so much to accomplish in life.

But as I approach the ripe old age of 24, I suddenly realize that the more I worry about growing old, the more I’m losing out on being young today! So with this little bit of wisdom that I’ve gained, I vow to consciously live in the present, heck, even live for the future. But I am unwilling to waste any time dwelling on time gone by.

On that note, one of the most fun things to do when birthdays (or other great life milestone) approaches is create a bucket list. There is nothing that makes you feel more alive!

I’ve decided to create a more achievable bucket list of a couple of things that I’ve wanted to do over the last year, but have just been put off for whatever reason. Simple stuff, even some everyday things that I would like to achieve in the next 18 days (Hopefully!).

So here goes- Presenting the 24 things to do before I’m 24!

  1. Going to see DDLJ at Maratha Mandir
  2. Going for a morning run (Getting out of bed is the worst thing ever!)
  3. Take a yoga class
  4. Watch a sunrise and sunset in the same day (Ok, I ripped this one off some other bucket list online, but it seems like a nice thing to do.)
  5. Call a friend that I’ve not spoken to for a while (Honestly, I’m terrified about this one. I know exactly which friend I want to call, and too many emotions are involved.)
  6. Start my PPF ac (grow up already!)
  7. Sit and sketch
  8. Cook a not-so-simple recipe (Every recipe I’ve ever looked up on the internet starts with the keywords ‘easy’ or ‘simple’)
  9. Write snail mail aka letters
  10. Buy a lottery ticket (*fingers crossed*)
  11. Buy stock (one small step for me, one big leap for financial planning!)
  12. Register to become an organ donor
  13. Get started on nana’s cookbook (I’m 6 months overdue on this one)
  14. Get a pedicure (Weird toes alert!)
  15. Go to the movies alone
  16. Finish reading Catch 22
  17. Read The Great Gatsby
  18. Read the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
  19. See Lalbaugcha Raja– Mumbai’s most famous Ganpati
  20. Learn one entire song (Short term memory and all that)
  21. Do one DIY or craft project
  22. Play taboo with friends in a restaurant
  23. Try Cooper’s fudge in Lonavala (Are you reading this Sam?)
  24. Learn to drive the car (This is a long term one, but let’s see if I can get a start right?)

 

Follow my ongoing quest to finish this lists right here on this wee blog! Comments, suggestions, encouragement and tips welcome. Also, if you want to send me a birthday gift, just ask, and you shall receive my address 😀

 

Oh my mark, get set, Go!

The reluctant writer.

Leave a Reply

